Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
James tutors in Nashville, TN

James S.

Private tutor in Nashville, TN

Education

Lipscomb University - Bachelors, Communications and Spanish (double major

Experience

One of my biggest beliefs is that in order to teach well, you must be an excellent student. My love of teaching began when I started tutoring junior high students at church during my senior school years. One thing this experience has shown me is that learning is effective when there is a two way street between pupils and teachers. I enjoy hearing feedback from learners because then I know how they are doing and we can set a goal to work on. I am originally from Tennessee, from a northwestern town named Troy. I took two majors, one in Spanish and one in Communications. My life experience includes living in places such as Paraguay, Honduras, as well as taking numerous vacations to Mexico. I speak Spanish and can teach the culture and the language. As far as tutoring experience, I have been a tutor for many junior and senior high schools in Nashville. I tutored ESL, English, Spanish, and math. I have also worked for the radio station and the newspaper and I am very passionate about news, writing, and grammar. I firmly believe as long as you can articulate well and write well, people will understand you. In addition to language and grammar, I also love history. I love Latin American history, world history, as well as American History. When I have spare time, I enjoy kayaking, biking, and trying new adventurous ideas. I would love to get to know you and help you reach your academic goals.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

playing guitar, kayaking, concerts, hiking, traveling

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!