Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Rachel tutors in Nashville, TN

Rachel W.

Private tutor in Nashville, TN

Education

I will complete my Masters of Education at Lipscomb University soon. My specialization is for grades K-6, and I also have extensive training with ESL. I graduated from Belmont University in May of 2014 with a 3.93 GPA. I majored in Religion and the Arts and minored in English Literature as well as Spanish. I am fluent in Spanish, and I have also pursued the arts in my spare time (namely drawing, painting, and photography). Based on the major and minors I selected during college, the humanities are my wheelhouse, but I do really love math and science as well.

Experience

I have a lot of experience teaching and tutoring in various subjects. I began tutoring in high school when I started a club to do precisely that with elementary students. I have since continued tutoring and teaching because I have a real passion for learning, helping others to understand, and making the process of learning as fun and fulfilling for others as it is for me. I have taught students ranging from the ages of 5 to 50 in subjects such as Spanish, English Language, Reading, Math, and Science. My most recent work experience has allowed me to teach with Nashville's refugee population, and I have enjoyed doing this for 3 years. Nothing satisfies me more than to help my students reach their "a-ha!" moment and become confident in a subject they once feared or even loathed. I always joke with colleagues that one of my favorite things to do is to "trick" even the most unwilling students into learning something new, whether it is about an academic subject or themselves. I genuinely think learning is fun, and I try my best to make it that way for others as well! I have a strong background in writing, largely because my college experience required so much of it. I am actually the sick kind of person that enjoys writing long critical papers, annotated bibliographies, and research papers. I have always jumped on any opportunity to help others with the process of writing and editing because of this. The bottom line is I love helping people, and I love education. Tutoring/teaching is my favorite thing to do!

Availability

Weekends in the afternoon, Weekdays after 2PM

Can Meet

Up to 45 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

In my free time I create art, volunteer with various non-profits that assist pets, see live music, write, and spend time with friends. I love traveling and engaging with other cultures. Being abroad and exploring new places is one of my favorite things, but I'm grateful my work has allowed me to learn about other cultures right here in Nashville.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!