Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Porter tutors in Nashville, TN

Porter M.

Private tutor in Nashville, TN

Education

M.A., Economics - The University of Alabama, 2014 B.S., Economics - The University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), 2011 I scored a 30 on the ACT in math & a 158 on the mathematics section of the GRE.

Experience

My name is Porter and I am product analyst for an insurance company here in Nashville. My job involves working with numbers and solving problems using math, economics, and statistics. My passion for solving problems and thinking critically with numbers coupled with my passion and enjoyment of helping people improve their math or economics skills makes me an ideal person to guide you or your child through the complex problems math and economics poses students of all experience levels. I am a patient and confident tutor. I will put your needs first and will provide you with the guidance you need to be successful. My experience as a tutor includes both paid and voluntary work. While in college I tutored elementary students through a volunteer organization based out of Birmingham, Alabama called Better Basics. Upon graduating from UA in the summer of 2014 I worked for 2 tutoring companies, Tutor Doctor & Tutor-Me-Now. During that time I worked with students of various ages, in both mathematics and economics. I worked with students individually as well as in group review sessions for tests. I am comfortable tutoring elementary math, pre-algebra, algebra I & II, ACT & SAT math, high school economics, principles of micro & macroeconomics, & intermediate micro & macroeconomics.

Availability

Monday after 6PM, Tuesday after 6PM, Wednesday after 6PM, Thursday after 6PM, Sunday in the afternoon, Saturday after 11AM

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 45 minutes away for a flat fee

Hobbies

I love reading, climbing, hiking, camping, and watching football. I enjoy reading books that increase my knowledge of the world around me, particularly books on economics and history. I also like playing soccer and ultimate frisbee. I have two brothers in high school who I not only like to do these things with but also have become a resource / tutor for them as well as they progress through their math classes.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!